

Senate

President of the Senate (VP of U.S.)

President pro tempore (chosen by maj. party)

Majority Leader

Minority Leader

Majority Whip

Minority Whip

House of Representatives

Speaker of the House (chosen by maj. party)

Majority Leader

Minority Leader

Majority Whip

Minority Whip

Committees in Congress

Committees in Congress is where all of the work on a bill takes place. There are 4 types of committees.

- Standing Committees- permanent groups where all similar bills are sent. There are 19 in the House and 17 in the Senate. The Speaker of the House or the president of the Senate is responsible for assigning bills to the appropriate standing committees.
- ➤ House Rules Committee- manages the flow of bills for action in the House by scheduling their consideration. Senate uses the majority leader to do this job.
- > Select Committee- put together for specific purposes (investigation)
- Conference Committees- Both houses to resolve diff. in a bill.